Berdiansk Regional Museum
Berdiansk Regional Museum is the oldest in the city. It was founded in 1929 in one of the most beautiful buildings where some times before the Berdiansk town hall was. After the fascist occupation period in the Warld War II museum was reopened in 1944 in the building of the parish school of the Catholic church.
Since 1958 till now museum is situated at the address: 14, Peremogy str.
Berdiansk Regional Museum is called after the famous citizen of the city, ethnographer, local historian, folklorist and dialectologist V.G.Kravtchenko.
The museum is an unique treasury of the historical knowledge of our region. Nowadays it is a modern complex of three branches: Shmidt Historical Museum (1980), Podvig Museum (1985) and Museum of the History of Berdiansk (2005). The Berdiansk City Council was the initiator and catalyst of these museums creation. Liudmila Nozdrina, the director of the Museum and the honored cultural worker Ukraine headed the creation of the museum and it's branches. Museums contain more than 80 thousand of different objects, unique collections, manuscripts, scientific works of museum workers are embodied in museum publications.
Exhibitions of the museum have the following main directions: period before Soviet Union, Soviet period, modern period, nature of our land and also the exhibition hall. There are open-air expositions: collection of anсient sculptures and some artifacts of the Scythian culture (IV BC).
Museum of the History of Berdiansk often takes part in numerous contests, festivals and scientific conferences.
Address: 14, Peremogy str.
(06153) 3 65 70; (06153) 4 56 96