Berdiansk Lower Lighthouse

majak.jpg

The fact that the Berdiansk Lower Lighthouse (1838) is the oldest among the Berdiansk buildings, agreed both by local lore studies and by historical literature. The construction of the lighthouse began on April 22, 1838. The lighthouse is located on the Berdiansk spit and indicates the way to the seaport. The building is 23m high, to the beacon lantern lead 99 steps. First, as a light source on the lighthouse, oil lamps were used, and in 1883 they were replaced by electric. In 1889 a beacon was installed on the lighthouse, which warned the ships of the proximity of the shore with poor visibility. This lighthouse works now. For half a century, his caretaker is Yakov Efimovich Fedirko - the oldest among Ukrainian lighthouse caretakers.

The first bank in Berdiansk

Kazna.jpg

The first bank in Berdiansk appeared in 1868. Seven years ago, quite a number of banking institutions operated in the city, for example, a Friendly Credit Union, a Bank of Mutual Lending, the St. Petersburg Commercial Bank and the Azov-Don Bank.

In 1902 the building of the Berdiansk State Bank stood at the place where the Cathedral Square crossed with the Bourse avenue (now it is the intersection of Pratsi avenue and Svobody street). On the pages of the 16th edition of the periodical "Niva" (1901), photographs covering the bank's construction process were posted. From the guidebook for Berdiansk, published in 1915, one can find out that the last pre-revolutionary governor of the State Bank was I.V. Zhelyabuzhsky Previously, this responsible post was occupied by VF Odarchenko and AA Beretti. You can admire this building today. It is transferred to the State Treasury. However, its appearance is already significantly different from the former. In 1917, from the bank's facade, a two-headed eagle was removed, and a portable balcony at the main entrance was disassembled.

Harbor Office Building

Zdanie_portovoi_kontory.jpg

Berdiansk sea port was born together with the city in 1827. In 1830 the wooden docks were opened. There’s no more wooden pier, but the building of the communication facilities, which was built at the same time, has survived. On the plate installed at the house, it is written that it was built in the 1830th, and is also considered one of the oldest buildings in our city.

Lutheran Church

Ljuteranskaja_kirkha.jpg

Lutheran Church is a Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Christ the Savior. It is considered an Architectural monument.

It is situated on the cross of the Lutheran and the Central streets. It has it’s own organ.

The first german colonists appeared in Berdiansk in XVII century. By invitation of Ekaterina II many foreighners from different countries started to settle on the coast of the Black Sea. They received the lands and were out of taxes for the next 30 years.

The first German colonies arose on the banks of the river Molochnaya and slowly grew, moving to the east of the Berdiansk district of the Tavriya province. Having settled in pleasant places, the colonists arranged and constantly improved methods of land cultivating, agricultural equipment, building wells and drainage systems, successfully engaged in various crafts, breeding of cattle, viticulture and gardening.

In 1822, on the lands occupied by so-called the Black Sea Germans the Berdiansk Colonial District (Berdjansk Kolonistenbezirk) was formed. The Berdiansk Germans who lived in the area, still known as the "Colony", took a great part in the development of the city. They set out the narrow and wide streets, which modern citizens still call the way they were called by Germans-colonists – "lines".

In 1865 the Lutheran community of Berdiansk was founded. Then there lived about 180 Germans, Lutherans.

In 1901 the construction of the Lutheran temple of Ehrlöserkirch (Church of Christ the Savior) began. It was built on donations from community members, which at that time numbered over 1,000 people. Mostly it was the Germans who lived in one of the outskirts of the city – so-called German sloboda.

Construction was carried out simultaneously with the community building, located to the left of the church, in which a German Lutheran school later appeared.

On September 26, 1903, the church was consecrated.

After the decree of the Ukrainian Soviet government in Kharkiv in 1919, the church was separated from the state, and the church property was confiscated and transferred to the people's property. In the 20 years of the XX century, after the Soviet authorities oppressed, the Lutheran church collapsed, in the 1930s the community was liquidated, and the church was closed. The pastors were repressed.

In 1941, all persons of German nationality were evicted from their permanent place of residence. According to the memoirs of local residents, they were carried on ships or vehicles in an unknown direction.

In the postwar years, the high school No. 3 was located in the building of the temple. Later in the 1970's, the building was transferred to the Berdiansk Pedagogical Institute.

On June 24, 1997, on the Day of John the Baptist, the revival of the Lutheran community in Berdiansk began.

On July 1, 2007, the divine service was restored. Together with the reconstruction of the Church, the worship services are also held.

In 2011 there were about 50 parishioners of different nationalities in the community.

In 2016, in context of the decommunization, the street Gorbenko, where the church was placed, was renamed to Lyuteranskaya Street.

Berdiansk kenesa.

Kenassa.jpg

This architectural monument of Berdiansk. It was initiated and built in 1899 with the participation of brothers O. M. and M. M. Pangulov, I. M. Aivaz, B. I. Babay. It is considered one of the most interesting buildings in our city and always attracts hundreds of tourists.

For the purpose of it’s building collect of donations was organized. It gave about 16,000 rubles. In general, the new kenesa costed about 25,000 rubles. The costs of electricity supply were left in the will of Pampulov. The Treasurer of the Construction Management Committee was I.M. Aivaz.

The interior embellishment was made by local karaims. The altar was made by brothers Panpulov. In the yard of the kenesa a beautiful Sukkah - a temporary hut constructed for use during the week-long Jewish religious festival of Sukkot, was built.

According to K. V. Hanatsky's reports in 1867 in Berdiansk lived in 1467 karaims. That time in Berdiansk, there were more than 35 karaim families.

At the middle of the 20th century kenasa was closed and it’s property was sold out. Still there’s an Act on the exemption and sale of the property on the total sum of 1141 rubles.
Since 1930th the building of the kenesa is used by the sports club Spartak.

Merchant Ezroublesky house.

Budinok_JEzrubilskogo.jpg

Ezrubylsky was a Berdiansk businessman and merchant, the owner of a well-known bookstore in the city.

Since 1917 when the Soviet government was established in Berdiansk, the First Berdiansk Bolshevik Council of Workers', Peasants' and Soldiers' Deputies held their meetings in this building. In the 1930s the building served as sanatorium of military pilots and at the beginning of the Great Patriotic War it turned to a military hospital. After the liberation of the city from the Nazis in 1943 the factory dormitory was established there. Since 1955 separate rooms on the ground floor were given to the Music School. Gradually, all the rooms of the building were transferred to the Music School. Nowadays it is one of the most beautiful buildings of the city that still belongs to the Berdiansk Music School.

The building of the Municipal Primary Four-Class School

4-kh_kl._uchilishche.jpeg

The primary two-year school opened in Berdiansk since 1873. Many famous figures of Ukrainian culture were the it’s graduates, among them prominent writer, poet, publicist T.A. Zinkivsky and ethnographer V.G. Kravchenko. At the beginning of the XX century the school turned to four-class studying institution and obtained its own building. From 1916 to 1919 it was the Higher elementary school with a 6-year term of study. From 1920 to 1941 it is already the seven-year Labor School №1. After the Great Patriotic War till 1987 it turned to the secondary school №16. Nowadays it is one of few educational buildings of the Berdiansk State Pedagogical University.

The Building of The Berdiansk Men’s Gymnasium

CHolovicha_gimnazija.jpg

This is the only building in the city that is considered a monument of architecture. It is also called the "red house" and because of the medieval style of the building is often compared with the fairy-tale palace.

The main building of the university was erected in the 1870s as a man's gymnasium building. It was originally planned as the best gymnasium in the district.

This building was created on the special original plan of engineer-captain K. Yelsky. According to the plan it would be one of the best gymnasiums not only for studying, but also as a decoration of the city. Therefore, it was built really very chic and beautiful. Already when the walls were erected, the budget for building works was increased. Money for construction was given not only by the city council, but also by the local authorities and citizens.

Thanks to the increase in the budget for the building expenses the building was well equipped for comfortable studying. Already during the building process the walls were risen a few dozen centimeters higher, thus each floor of the building is almost five meters high.

Everything was thought over. For example, gym did not touch the walls of the entire building, so that vibrations and noise during the PT classes did not disturb the studying process. Everything was planned for convenience and aesthetics.

Men's gymnasium existed in this building only until 1919. Already since the 1920s the pedagogical courses started there. Later they were transformed into a pedagogical technical school which in it’s turn to the Pedagogical Institute which became the University in 2002.

During the Second World War, the building was burned by fascist occupants. The building burned almost to the ground. Only in 1953 students were able to return to the studying in this building. Nevertheless, the exterior of the former gymnasium, along with fabulous towers and bas-relief, has survived the fire. Currently the building considered an architectural monument of national significance in Berdiansk and is under the protection of the state.